Paramount HR Solutions

QQI Centre Number: 38045K

Paramount HR Solutions is the registered trading name of Paramount College Ltd which is a long established company based in Dublin. We are passionate about finding you a solution that will add real value to your business. By leveraging our extensive knowledge and industry expertise, we develop training and educational solutions that make a difference. All of our services are tailored and customized to your organization.

The National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ)

The National Framework of qualifications (NFQ) is intended to put you, the leaner, at the centre of the education and training system in Ireland. The NFQ is used to classify and compare qualifications. You can use the NFQ to find out more about courses that you are interested in and to help you make informed decisions when choosing a course. The NFQ also makes it easier for you to explain to others what qualifications you hold, or are studying for. This becomes very important when you are considering further learning or when you are applying for a job – at home or abroad. To get the most from your choices about education and training, it is worth asking the following questions:
  • What qualification does a particular course lead to?
  • Who is the awarding body
  • Does a course lead to a qualification that is included on the National Framework of qualifications?
  • What level is the qualification on the National Framework of Qualifications?
  • Is it a minor or a non-major award?
  • What progression opportunities follow from a qualification?
The NFQ, illustrated by the “fan diagram” above, is a system of ten levels. Each level tells you about the range of knowledge, skill and competence required to achieve a particular qualification. There are six national awarding bodies with qualifications included in the Framework. School qualifications (Junior and Leaving Certificates) are awarded by the State Examinations Commission. Further education and training qualifications are awarded by Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI). Higher education and training qualifications may be awarded by QQI, the institutes of Technology, Dublin Institute of Technology, the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and the Universities.
Qualifications in the NFQ are quality assured. This means that you, the learner, can have confidence that your course, and the institution at which you are studying, are reviewed on an on-going basis. Quality assurance is intended to ensure that all learners have a high quality learning experience regardless of where you are studying.
The European and international dimensions of the NFQ are also important. Increasingly, learners and workers are travelling to other countries to access further learning or employment. All qualifications in the NFQ are recognised at home and abroad. The NFQ is used to compare Irish qualifications with foreign qualifications, and acts as a valuable tool for Irish citizens travelling abroad who wish to use their Irish qualifications. In addition, learners or workers travelling to Ireland with qualifications gained abroad can use the NFQ to have their qualifications recognised. For more information on qualifications frameworks and the recognition of qualifications please visit
Learners should also visit the following website if they are interested in the European Qualifications Framework which links the qualifications frameworks of different European countries together, visit: or the following web site for the European Higher Education Area (ehea) which aims to facilitate cooperation between systems, institutions, and individual staff and students throughout the EHEA. The EHEA now includes the concept of a qualifications framework with an emphasis on learning outcomes. Theundergraduate/postgraduate degree structure has been modified into a three-cycle system-bachelor, master and doctorate.

Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI)

QQI is a state agency established by the Quality Assurance and Qualifications (Education and Training) Act 2012.
The College delivers Further Education and Training (FET) QQI awards at Levels 3 to 6. The awards are made up of Major Awards and minor/component awards. A major award is made up of 8 components some of which are mandatory and some are elective. The College web site will make it clear whether a programme is a major or component award. If you are unclear please phone the College to confirm the details of the programme you are signing up for. Each component normally gives a leaner 15 credits on the NFQ. A major award gives a learner 120 credits on the NFQ. Learners are expected to study for 150 hours for a component and 1200 for a major made up of a mixture of directed learning (DL) hours and self directed learning (SDL) hours. Each award on the College web site will indicate the number of hours for DL and SDL.
Under the Quality Assurance and Qualifications (Education and Training) Act 2012 all providers are obliged to provide Protection of Enrolled Learners (PEL) for programmes that have a duration in excess of 3 months. The College web site will indicate the PEL arrangements in place for your programme where the duration exceeds 3 months.